STEM for Britain acceptance

Both Miten and Simon have been accepted to present at the STEM for Britain 2019 poster exhibition at the House of Commons on 13 March. More info can be found here.

Runner-Up Presentation Award at PSE@ResearchDayUK

First year PhD student Johannes Wiebe was awarded the 2nd Presentation Prize at the 3rd PSE@ResearchDayUK. Johannes’ work, on Data-Driven Optimization of Processes with Degrading Equipment, will also be presented at the upcoming AIChE Annual Meeting. Johannes completed this work jointly with Dr Inês Cecílio and Dr Ruth Misener.

Best Quality Poster to Simon Olofsson

PhD student Simon Olofsson was awarded Best Quality Poster at the annual Department of Computing Poster Competition, which is sponsored by Google. Congratulations, Simon!

Dr Juan

We want to congratulate Juan Campos Salazar for passing his viva today!

Dr Vahan

We want to congratulate Vahan Hovhannisyan for passing his viva today!


  On 4 October, Simon Olofsson gave a presentation about his Bayesian multi-objective optimisation research at ESCAPE-27. Simon’s work is in collaboration with Dr Ruth Misener, Dr Marc Deisenroth, Dr Roberto Calandra, Professor Lies Geris, and her research team.

New PhD student

A new PhD student has joined the Computational Optimisation Group. We are happy to welcome Johannes Wiebe as our newest member. He previously obtained an M.Sc. degree in Chemical Engineering from RWTH Aachen, Germany. He is part of the EPSRC HiPEDS Center for Doctoral Training, and under the supervision of Dr Ruth Misener.

Royal Academy of Engineering Video

The Royal Academy of Engineering recently released a short video showing how the RAEng supports engineering research in the UK: This video features our work in the Computational Optimisation Group and includes shots of group members Georgia Kouyialis, Dr Dimitris Letsios, Simon Olofsson, and Dr Ruth Misener. We are delighted to have our research featured… Read more »

Dr Sei

We want to congratulate Sei Howe for passing her viva today!

Sir George Macfarlane Medal

The Royal Academy of Engineering awarded Dr Ruth Misener the Sir George Macfarlane Medal for excellence in the early stage of her career. Ruth was also one of the winners of the RAEng Engineers Trust Young Engineer of the Year competition. Find the press release here.

Delicious Twitter Digg this StumbleUpon Facebook